About the VAC

Veterinary Advisory Committee (VAC)

The HBLB has appointed the Veterinary Advisory Committee (VAC) to advise it on matters related to the advancement of veterinary science and education.
The ultimate aim of the veterinary investment is to improve the health and welfare of the Thoroughbred horse during racing, breeding and rearing. The VAC supports this aim by recommending investment in priority areas identified in consultation with the racing and breeding industries.

Recommendations are made by the VAC across a range of activities including on-going research projects, education awards, and disease surveillance.
It has also appointed the Education Sub-Committee to advise it on education awards; the Codes of Practice Sub-Committee to advise it on the annual Codes of Practice on equine diseases; and the Thoroughbred Research and Consultation Group to advise on research scope and priorities.

The VAC is comprised of scientists and veterinary clinicians who are able to provide expertise throughout the scope of the veterinary investment. The current members are listed below:


Veterinary practitioner, 
Rossdale & Partners, Newmarket

Primary expertise: Internal medicine, cardiology
Chairman of VAC

Professor Colin Farquharson BSc PhD MB

Professor of Skeletal Biology, Roslin Institute, 
Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, 
University of Edinburgh

Primary expertise: Musculoskeletal and endocrine research, bone and cartilage disorders

Ms Caroline George BVMS MRCVS

Veterinary Practitioner,
Lambourn Equine Vets

Primary expertise: Sports medicine and science, reproduction

Member of the Education Sub-Committee
Professor Peter O' Shaughnessy BSc PhD

Professor of Reproductive Biology and
Head of Division of Cell Sciences, 
University of Glasgow

Primary expertise: Reproduction, developmental biology, endocrinology
Chairman of Education Sub-Committee
Professor Christopher Proudman MA Vet MB PhD Cert EO FRCVS RCVS Specialist in Equine Gastroenterology

Professor and Head of School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Surrey, Guildford

Primary expertise: Equine intestinal health and disease, metabolomis and metagenomics

Chairman of the Thoroughbred Research Consultation Group
Mr Chris Rea BVM&S MRCVS

Veterinary practitioner,
Three Counties Equine Hospital, Tewkesbury

Primary expertise: Lameness, orthopaedics, soft tissue surgery
Chairman of Codes of Practice Sub-Committee
Professor Stuart Ralston MB ChB MRCP MD FRCP FRSE

Head of School of Molecular & Clinical Medicine and ARC Professor of Rheumatology, 
Western General Hospital, Edinburgh

Primary expertise: Rheumatic disease, molecular genetics, molecular and cell biology
Member of Education Sub-Committee
Professor Falko Steinbach PhD MRCVS

Head of Mammalian Virology, 
Animal Health and Veterinary Laboratories Agency (AHVLA), Surrey

Primary expertise: Virology, immunology
Professor Tom Stout

Professor of Equine Medicine and Reproduction, Utrecht University, the Netherlands

Primary expertise: Equine medicine, reproduction